MetaCyc Gene-Ontology-Terms Class: GO:0016829 - lyase activity

Definition: Catalysis of the cleavage of C-C, C-O, C-N and other bonds by other means than by hydrolysis or oxidation, or conversely adding a group to a double bond. They differ from other enzymes in that two substrates are involved in one reaction direction, but only one in the other direction. When acting on the single substrate, a molecule is eliminated and this generates either a new double bond or a new ring.

Note that enzymes of class EC:4.99.-.- should also be annotated to this term.

Parent Classes:
GO:0003824 - catalytic activity

Child Classes:
GO:0004325 - ferrochelatase activity (3),
GO:0016830 - carbon-carbon lyase activity (93),
GO:0016835 - carbon-oxygen lyase activity (87),
GO:0016840 - carbon-nitrogen lyase activity (19),
GO:0016846 - carbon-sulfur lyase activity (21),
GO:0016848 - carbon-halide lyase activity (2),
GO:0016849 - phosphorus-oxygen lyase activity (2),
GO:0018835 - carbon phosphorus lyase activity (1)

Term Members:
carbonic anhydrase 2 monomer (yadF),
carbon-phosphorus lyase core complex, PhnJ subunit,
PanD proenzyme, π protein,
rhamnulose-1-phosphate aldolase monomer (rhaD),
phosphogluconate dehydratase (edd),
galactarate dehydratase (garD),
D-altronate dehydratase (uxaA),
6-deoxy-6-sulfofructose-1-phosphate aldolase (yihT),
D-mannonate dehydratase (uxuA),
2-oxo-3-deoxygalactonate 6-phosphate aldolase (dgoA),
D-galactonate dehydratase (dgoD),
2-methylcitrate dehydratase (prpD),
2-methylisocitrate lyase (prpB),
N-acetylmuramic acid 6-phosphate etherase (murQ),
indole-3-glycerol phosphate synthase / phosphoribosylanthranilate isomerase (trpC),
anthranilate synthase component II (trpD),
anthranilate synthase component I (trpE),
D-serine ammonia-lyase (dsdA),
glyoxylate carboligase (gcl),
deoxyribose-phosphate aldolase (deoC),
ornithine decarboxylase, biosynthetic (speC),
ornithine decarboxylase, degradative (speF),
Adi (adiA),
adenosylmethionine decarboxylase, proenzyme (speD),
lysine decarboxylase 2 (ldcC),
S-ribosylhomocysteine lyase (luxS),
6-carboxy-5,6,7,8-tetrahydropterin synthase (queD),
uroporphyrinogen decarboxylase (hemE),
ferrochelatase (hemH),
3-keto-L-gulonate 6-phosphate decarboxylase (ulaD),
3-keto-L-gulonate 6-phosphate decarboxylase (sgbH),
4-hydroxy-2-ketovalerate aldolase (mhpE),
3-hydroxy-2,4-pentadione 5-phosphate thiolase (lsrF),
ethanolamine ammonia-lyase, β subunit (eutC),
ethanolamine ammonia-lyase, α subunit (eutB),
glyoxalase III, Hsp31 molecular chaperone (hchA),
glyoxalase I (gloA),
adenylosuccinate lyase (purB),
tyrosine lyase (thiH),
HMP-P synthase (thiC),
phosphatidylserine decarboxylase, proenzyme (psd),
2-C-methyl-D-erythritol 2,4-cyclodiphosphate synthase monomer (ispF),
chorismate lyase (ubiC),
3-octaprenyl-4-hydroxybenzoate carboxy-lyase monomer (ubiD),
3-dehydroquinate synthase (aroB),
o-succinylbenzoate synthase (menC),
(1R,6R)-2-succinyl-6-hydroxy-2,4-cyclohexadiene-1-carboxylate synthase (menH),
fructose bisphosphate aldolase monomer (fbaB),
argininosuccinate lyase (argH),
threonine synthase (thrC),
glutamate decarboxylase A subunit (gadA),
glutamate decarboxylase B subunit (gadB),
isocitrate lyase monomer (aceA),
aconitate hydratase 1 (acnA),
bifunctional aconitate hydratase 2 and 2-methylisocitrate dehydratase (acnB),
fumarase C monomer (fumC),
ureidoglycolate lyase (allA),
molybdopterin biosynthesis protein A (moaA),
uroporphyrinogen III synthase (hemD),
porphobilinogen synthase (hemB),
4-hydroxy-tetrahydrodipicolinate synthase (dapA),
phosphoenolpyruvate carboxykinase (ATP) (pck),
dTDP-glucose 4,6-dehydratase (rfbB),
dTDP-glucose 4,6-dehydratase 2 (rffG),
imidazole glycerol phosphate synthase, HisF subunit,
methylmalonyl-CoA decarboxylase (scpB),
crotonobetainyl-CoA hydratase (caiD),
fructose bisphosphate aldolase monomer (fbaA),
FadJ monomer,
3,4-dihydroxy-2-butanone 4-phosphate synthase (ribB),
GDP-mannose 4,6-dehydratase (gmd),
L-serine deaminase III (tdcG),
L-serine deaminase I (sdaA),
L-serine deaminase II (sdaB),
tryptophanase (tnaA),
bifunctional β-cystathionase, PLP-dependent and regulator of maltose regulon (malY),
O-acetylserine sulfhydrylase A (cysK),
carbonic anhydrase monomer (cynT),
cyanase monomer (cynS),
KpLE2 phage-like element; 2-dehydro-3-deoxy-D-pentonate aldolase (yjhH),
CP4-6 prophage; probable 2-keto-3-deoxygluconate aldolase (yagE),
oxalyl-CoA decarboxylase (oxc),
tryptophan synthase, β subunit (trpB),
tryptophan synthase, α subunit (trpA),
formamidopyrimidine DNA glycosylase (mutM),
2,3-diaminopropionate ammonia-lyase (ygeX),
fumarase B monomer (fumB),
deoxyribodipyrimidine photolyase (photoreactivation) (phr),
D-glucarate dehydratase (gudD),
methylglyoxal synthase (mgsA),
2-keto-3-deoxy-L-rhamnonate aldolase (yfaU),
citrate lyase, citryl-ACP lyase β subunit (citE),
citrate lyase, citrate-ACP transferase α subunit (citF),
NAD(P)HX epimerase / NAD(P)HX dehydratase (yjeF),
KpLE2 phage-like element; D-xylonate dehydratase (yjhG),
CP4-6 prophage; D-xylonate dehydratase (yagF),
membrane-bound lytic murein transglycosylase B (mltB),
membrane-bound lytic murein transglycosylase A (mltA),
soluble lytic murein transglycosylase (slt),
membrane-bound lytic murein transglycosylase C (mltC),
membrane-bound lytic murein transglycosylase D (mltD),
lytic murein transglycosylase E (emtA),
membrane-bound lytic murein transglycosylase F (mltF),
adenylate cyclase (cyaA),
N-acetylneuraminate lyase (nanA),
dodecenoyl-CoA δ-isomerase, enoyl-CoA hydratase, 3-hydroxybutyryl-CoA epimerase, 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase (fadB),
fumarase A monomer,
Fsa (fsaA),
fructose 6-phosphate aldolase 2 (fsaB),
D-cysteine desulfhydrase (dcyD),
cysteine sulfinate desulfinase (csdA),
L-cysteine desulfurase (sufS),
dihydroneopterin aldolase (folB),
endonuclease III (nth),
oxepin-CoA hydrolase/3-oxo-5,6-dehydrosuberyl-CoA semialdehyde dehydrogenase (paaZ),
L-tartrate dehydratase, β subunit (ttdB),
L-tartrate dehydratase, α subunit (ttdA),
L-rhamnonate dehydratase (yfaW),
Cysteine sulfinic acid decarboxylase (CSAD),
ATP-citrate synthase (ACLY),
Histidine decarboxylase (HDC),
arginine decarboxylase (ADC),
argininosuccinate lyase (ASL),
Glutamate decarboxylase 1 (GAD1),
glutamate decarboxylase 2 monomer (GAD2),
Serine dehydratase-like (SDSL),
L-serine dehydratase (SDS),
adenylosuccinate lyase (ADSL),
Uroporphyrinogen decarboxylase (UROD),
uroporphyrinogen-III synthase (UROS),
porphobilinogen deaminase (HMBS),
Delta-aminolevulinic acid dehydratase (ALAD),
phosphoenolpyruvate carboxykinase [GTP], mitochondrial (PCK2),
Fructose-bisphosphate aldolase B (ALDOB),
Fructose-bisphosphate aldolase A (ALDOA),
fructose-bisphosphate aldolase C monomer (ALDOC),
Beta-enolase (ENO3),
gamma enolase monomer (ENO2),
phosphoenolpyruvate carboxykinase, cytosolic [GTP] (PCK1),
2-deoxy-5-keto-D-gluconate 6-phosphate aldolase (iolJ),
scyllo-inosose dehydratase (iolE),
Alpha-enolase (ENO1),
long chain 3-hydroxyacyl-CoA dehydrogenase (HADHA),
mitochondrial enoyl-CoA hydratase (ECHS1),
peroxisomal bifunctional enzyme (EHHADH),
2-hydroxyacyl-CoA lyase 1 (HACL1),
S-adenosylmethionine decarboxylase proenzyme (AMD1),
phosphomethylpyrimidine synthase monomer (thiC),
thiazole synthase (thiG),
7-carboxy-7-deazaguanine synthase (queE),
6-carboxy-5,6,7,8-tetrahydropterin synthase (queD),
Hydroxymethylglutaryl-CoA lyase, mitochondrial (HMGCL),
sphingosine phosphate lyase 1 (Sgpl1)

Unification Links: GO:0016829

Relationship Links: ENZYME:RELATED-TO:4

Report Errors or Provide Feedback
Please cite the following article in publications resulting from the use of MetaCyc: Caspi et al, Nucleic Acids Research 42:D459-D471 2014
Page generated by Pathway Tools version 19.5 (software by SRI International) on Tue Nov 24, 2015, biocyc12.